Twitter-more than meets the tweet.

12 04 2011

I’ve had a Twitter account for a while now. For the longest time I wasn’t sure what to do with it. What is a “tweet?” Who would see it? Who would even care to see it? Who would follow the antics of Charlie Sheen? (Oh..right…me..)
What I have discovered since using Twitter for work is that there is a community of like-minded people out there like myself that is sharing information at it’s core. I have made some connections with people in other parts of the world I wouldn’t normally have. It’s nice to know what’s going on across the pond, or in Australia, or even in Canada. If I don’t want to go on and click on their link, I don’t. If I find it worthwhile, I click on it. Often times, the information is useful, relevant, and current to what we all are doing in education.

Then, this got me thinking to how teachers can use Twitter to enhance the educational experience of their students, or to stay connected to other educators. For example, a teacher can create a Twitter account that is set to “private”.

Privacy setting for Twitter account management

Teachers can then approve students who have a similarly set up Twitter account, and could tweet a link to a quiz, question of the day, video, assignment. Teachers could also post and protect posted student work-the possibilities are merely left to one’s imagination!

I am not saying that we should give 5 year olds a twitter account, but it’s a great way to communicate with our older students, and quite possibly our parents and community members.

Do you have any ideas for how you can use Twitter in your classroom? Interested in learning more?

6 examples of using Twitter in the Classroom

Top 100 Tools for the Twittering Teacher

Twitter Handbook for Teachers

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

